Ain’t ye so purrrrty?


Lovely Couple on the SI Ferry

The wedding dress – sometimes abominable, sometimes a cream puff, sometimes a ruffle nightmare, sometimes befitting royalty and other times simply divine.

The wedding dress has the propensity, the probability of being either the icing on the cake of a well orchestrated wedding or the nightmare that clings to the drapes long after the event that has wound down. “The whole time I was in that house I felt something was wrong. What happened there?” (The Grudge)

Listen – Don’t try to go big, don’t spend more than you can afford, don’t try to wear something that you wouldn’t normally ever wear, you are a woman, a lady, not a meringue topped fondant spray of puffy chiffon whipped mayhem. After the guests go home, the flowers wilt and the cake a pile of crumbs, the workers have dismantled the stage, the dress hanging in your closet never to be worn again, ever, at least not by you, the only person who really is going to remember ever nuance of it is you. YOU. This is your dress. It is most important that you love every wrinkle and fold, every button and stitch. I think we tend to get caught up in what is the most fashionable or how thin we can get to transform into the emaciated figures we see walking the Vera Wang or Reem Acra runway. Here’s a thought – how about you be you and wear a dress that fits like a dream, and makes you feel really pretty?

J. Crew has some great options if you want to stay away from the Davids Bridal or Kleinfeld’s horror shows – Clicky

They’ve got everything from the bride and bridesmaid, to the groom covered. Its time to tamper with tradition, make your own version.

Another option I have been playing with lately is simply setting the filter on Shopstyle to white dress (284 pages!)- and I am certainly not bound to what someone else has chosen as what is an acceptable gown for the event – Clicker – (If you don’t know this site prepare for obsession!)

I think that will work just fine.

No, I have not found MY dress, and no I am not sure what I want yet. But its out there and I will find it and the less I spend on it the better. After all its more about how I feel than how I look. If I remember that I felt amazing, rather than remember I spent the whole night hiking my frock up, or that Alex looked incredibly handsome rather than, I couldn’t breathe, or that my bridesmaids looked beautiful and I felt like I was glowing, rather than, not being able to zip the nightmare up…. you can see where I am going with this. Priorities people, that’s what it’s all about.

Have a wonderful day! Thank you so much for reading!

~Jenni

2 thoughts on “Ain’t ye so purrrrty?

  1. Love the J Crew Idea! Good submission.

  2. Love the J Crew Idea. Great submission.

Leave a Reply

