Down boy!


Alex and I have decided to have a non traditional ceremony incorporating both of our belief systems. As I have said once before, Alex is Jewish and I am Christian with Jewish roots. Last time I wrote that one of Alex’s friends blasted back with “By ‘Christian with Jewish roots’, you mean you are Jewish. HEHE Redundancy fail”. Très eloquent. And when Alex and I tried to explain our plans to his family, his brother said “Good Luck getting a Rabbi“. I am not one to preach and I have rarely pushed my beliefs on others (Sorry Lisa). I have lived enough places and met a myriad of amazing people, of every color, religion and creed to know that each person’s beliefs are their own. It is not for me to judge or to manipulate, I am here to live my life and when I am faced with those in need I give of myself as best I can. It’s very interesting to me that all of a sudden people believe they can speak to us in this way and try to force their opinions down our throats.
The tidbits we share are simply because we are excited as we embark upon this adventure. We are not to trying to change others views, nor are we suggesting our way should be the norm. I have been to a ton of great weddings, I have been blessed with the honor of being invited to many gorgeous parties, but none of them were our wedding. Our wedding will not be a cookie cutter version of any of these varied galas.
There are numerous details to attend to and everyone has an opinion. People express their disdain for things we say and I want to scream “Are you kidding? It’s a party we are throwing to celebrate our union and we have CHOSEN to invite you. All you have to do is show up. Be grateful!”
I may have always talked about how I was avoiding getting married and proclaimed I wasn’t the settling down type, but that was all bolstering. I have looked forward to this day for a very long time and now all of a sudden, eloping doesn’t seem like such a bad idea.
Spending 20K on a vacation sounds pretty awesome. How about this option? What if we spend 2K on a vacation and put 18K aside so that we can buy a house, or a cozy little apartment in Park Slope?
Hmmmm… I guess you can say that I have hit a low point.
Uber disenchanted.

Thanks for reading.
Sorry for the bum job.

~Jenni

2 thoughts on “Down boy!

  1. Oh Ms. Jenny-

    I support you no matter what. Religious or non-religious. Who cares? This is your time. I am sure whatever you decide, it will be tasteful, yet simplistic.

  2. Mama says:

    Jenni,
    I’m sure whatever celebration(s) you and Alex create will be perfect! I can’t wait to be part of the fete!!!!!

Leave a Reply

