For the Love – Party Tunes!


Next step in planning this beast is figuring out the music. As I perused the web and my fellow wedding sites I found a HUGE hole.

Music lists for weddings.

We have a ton of different backgrounds and age groups coming together and the Russians think they know how to party best as do, I am sure, the Giglio Clan. Then we have my ladies traveling in from the west coast and sissy from London who really know how to get down… suffice to say we have a serious gauntlet thrown down.

The surest way to ruin a party is to play crappy music. So I set about constructing a list of music that will not blow the ears off of my older guests and conversely will not put my younger guests to sleep. Also there is a necessity for a few line dances because I like to line dance. I am not ashamed to say that the tush push is the best time I have had in years…

Also, MmmBop made my list as did Magic, while YMCA and Brown Eyed Girl will NOT be making an appearance. Alex and I had to let Leningrad and Rob Zombie go but we’ve made peace with that.

Mind you this is not THE list but a list I am working on, just wanted to share as I could not find anything out there that was timely and hip and though all of the lovelies planning their shindigs might appreciate a list made in a time where n’sync is not an acceptable selection.

Pre wedding

1.       You & Me, Dave Matthews Band

2.       Lucky, Jason Mraz featuring Colbie Caillet

3.       Cliffs of Dover, Eric Johnson

Processional

1.       Marry Me, Train

Postlude

1.       Another One Bites The Dust, Queen

Cocktail Hour

1.       White Sky, Vampire Weekend

2.       Viva La Vida, Coldplay

3.       MmmBop – Hanson

4.       You’re the Best Around, Joe Esposito

5.       Rock & Roll, Eric Hutchinson

6.       1,2,3,4 – Plain White T’s

7.       Today Was A Fairytale, Taylor Swift

8.       Tiny Dancer – Ben Folds

Bridal Party Entrance

1.       Battle Without Honor or Humanity, Kill Bill soundtrack

Alex & Jenni Entrance

1.

Father/ Daughter Dance

1.       I’ll Bе, Edwin McCain

Mother/ Son Dance

1.

Alex & boys dance

1.       Gogol Bordello – “American Wedding”

Reception

1.       Wonderful Tonight, Eric Clapton

2.       Only the Good Die Young, Billy Joel

3.       Pour Some Sugar on Me, Def Leppard

4.       Livin’ on a Prayer, Bon Jovi

5.       Hey Ya, Outkast

6.       What a wonderful World, Louis Armstrong

7.       Don’t Stop til you get enough, MJ

8.       Fly me to the moon, Frank Sinatra

9.       How sweet it is, James Taylor

10.   Soul Sister, Train

11.   You give me something, James Morrison

12.   Dance Karate, Chris Merritt

13.   Runaround Sue, Dion

14.   Getting’ Jiggy with it, Will Smith

15.   Dynamite, Taio Cruz

16.   PYT, MJ

17.   Rocketeer, Far East Movement

18.   Forget You, Cee Lo Green

19.   Like a G6, Far East Movement

20.   Say Hey (I Love You),  Michael Franti and Spearhead

21.   I Got a Feeling, Black Eyed Peas

22.   Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It), Beyonce

23.   We No Speak Americano, Yolanda Be Cool & DCUP

24.   We Got a Love Thang, CeCe Peniston

25.   I Wear My Sunglasses At Night, Corey Hart

26.   Bongo Bong, Manu Chao

27.   It Had To Be You, Harry Connick, Jr.

28.   I’m A Cowboy – Dance Mix, Smokin’ Armadillos

29.   Pickin Wildflowers, Keith Anderson

30.   Swamp Thing, THE GRID

31.   Cha Cha Slide, Casper

32.   Boom Boom Pow, The Black Eyed Peas

33.   Don’t Stop The Music, Rihanna

34.   Celebration, Kool & The Gang

35.   Everything, Michael Buble

36.   Come Away With Me, Norah Jones

37.   Chicken Fried, Zac Brown Band

38.   I Want You To Want Me Cheap Trick

39.   Fly Me To The Moon, Frank Sinatra

40.   How Sweet It is James Taylor

41.   The Way I Are, Timbaland ft. Keri Hilson

42.   Apache, Sugar Hill Gang

43.   Life Is A Highway Rascal Flatts

44.   Rock Your Body Justin Timberlake

45.   One More Time Daft Punk

46.   White Wedding, Billy Idol

47.   Tainted Love Soft Cell

48.   Paper Planes M.I.A.

49.   Oh What A Night Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons

50.   Magic B.O.B. Ft. Rivers Cuomo

51.   American Boy Estelle Ft. Kanye West

52.   Cupid – Cupid Shuffle

53.   I Love Rock N’ Roll Joan Jett & The Blackhearts

54.   You Spin Me Round (Like A Record) Dead Or Alive

55.   Don’t Stop Til’ You Get Enough Michael Jackson

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

